Isaiah 6.8

When it’s all been said and done
There is just one thing that matters
Did I do my best to live for truth?
Did I live my life for You?

This picture was taken in the Royal Botanic Gardens in Sydney in 2012. I had just finished an interview with a Clinical Psychologist in Sydney recorded in ‘Hearttalk’ and her parting words were, “Be Kind To Yourself.” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rU89kCFI0RM As I looked at this picture again today, the empty chair brought the reality to mind that one day we will leave this world and when that time comes, when all has been said and done, would we have lived our lives to the fullest that has been pleasing to God.

As the New Year 2015 starts unfolding day by day, I find myself asking this one important question: Did I do my best to live for truth? Did I live my life for Christ? You might say, “But that is two questions”? Yes, but they are knitted into one thread that unravels the depth of the soul. ‘Truth’ and ‘Life’ are sojourning partners of ‘The Way’ to eternity. They are inseparable companions and the One who came to lead us on this journey into eternal life said these words: ”I am the way, the truth and the life.” One crimson cord stained with the blood of the Lamb of God who when it was all said and done proclaimed: “It is finished.” His name is Yeshua, Jesus of Nazareth.

 “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. John 14:6

So, my answer to this one important question is plain and clear: No. There comes a time in one’s life when you have to be brutally honest with oneself and with God and I find myself today at the starting point of my spiritual journey all over again. But hopefully and prayerfully the scars of ‘growing up’ into maturity in Christ will enable me to ‘stay up’ and finish the race laid before me . (see post ‘One Day At A Time’ about ‘scars’.)

The church pastor has declared this year as the ‘Year of Faith’. Definitely for me. This year will be the greatest challenge of my faith in God because important wise decisions have to be made regarding the future for our daughter as she plans to embark on a career in dentistry. Do we take the easy way out and go for what we see – financially, spiritually, physically and emotionally or do we take a step of faith and walk on water focused on the One who promises to ‘reward every man according to his deeds.’ Romans 2:6 That is the bottom line and it all depends on me.

Only what I have done
For love’s rewards
Will stand the test of time

It All Depends On Me: Am I being unkind to myself? What about my life? Do I need to live as what has been told to me and be kind to myself too? Am I putting unnecessary stress on my physically heart that is surviving on vein grafts from my thigh? How long will these vein grafts survive? Will I need another open heart bypass surgery? Will I need stents to keep them open for another 6 years till my daughter graduates and I can see the fruit of the provisions of the Lord to us as a family? Will the Potter be able to put all the broken pieces of my life so far together again so I can live for the truth and the abundant life that is in Christ Jesus? That would be the crown of glory this side of eternity to see the Lord’s hand complete what God has initially purposed and planned for this life to be for me. These are questions that only time will give forth the answers. But, as the ancient sage Job declared nearly four thousand years ago: I know that My redeemer lives and that in the end He will stand on earth! Job 19:25 Yes, I too want to stand with my Lord on earth and that must be the faith to walk on water in this life because the Lord will return in glory.

Job 19:25 I know that my redeemer lives, and that in the end He will stand on the earth.

So friends, when it’s all been said and done, can we stand on level ground and say ‘Yes” we made it or will it become a tragedy of an unfinished journey? These are solemn thoughts that must be wrestled with as we enter into this new year of uncharted pathways. Yes, I know and admit there will be side roads and diversions and bypasses that I may enter into but with God’s grace and your prayers, we must strive to finish well and leave a legacy where someone can say when it is all said and done: He fell but managed to get up and finish well.

When It’s All Been Said And Done
There is just one thing that matters
Did I do my best to live for truth?
Did I live my life for You?

When it’s all been said and done
All my treasures will mean nothing
Only what I have done
For love’s rewards
Will stand the test of time

Lord, Your mercy is so great
That You look beyond our weakness
That You found purest gold in miry clay
Turning sinners into saints

I will always sing Your praise
Here on earth and in heaven after
For You’ve joined me at my true home
When it’s all been said and done
You’re my life when life is gone…

