Just Live, On

“One should go to sleep as homesick passengers do, saying, ‘Perhaps in the morning we shall see the shore.’” Henry Ward Beecher

630e34fe632bbc80b4645a384d68ab1f

Just Live, On: I went down yesterday to the gym room in the condominium we stay in to do my evening exercise on the treadmill. There I met another condotel owner who had me over to his place some months ago to taste some home-made chapati. He too was now four years after his open heart bypass surgery (one year older to me!) and we started comparing notes. He looked a lot more fitter than me and his advice was this: “Take one day at a time and forget about your heart and live everyday. Your heart will take care of itself. Just live…on.” His advice sounded like the Nike advert: Just Do It!

Just Do It! had not worked for me this year as most of my trials were of my own doing. A very traumatic year indeed but, I must Just Live, On. One thing I have come to realize and that it is so easy to be a fool, in the literal sense of the word. It is so easy to write all the spiritual things one must do and the next minute go against all that one has written. It is so easy to tell myself that I am going to make it right for the day, do not loose my temper, stay loving and at the end of the day not being able to live with myself for what has taken place during the day.

Looking Back: Looking back this year, I am so very thankful to God that things turned out the way they did because I did not know what love and care really meant to me. I did not know what it is like to have another human being spit directly at my face. I did not know what it is like to be called names and accused of all sorts of things rightly or wrongly. I did not know that after seventeen years of being the caretaker of a vision from the Lord Jesus Himself I would see the next conference cancelled. I did not know how painful it must have been for my own family to see this year unfold the way it did. But most of all, I have come to know the plague in my own heart. That is why I have no regrets. The One I hurt the most, Jesus of Nazareth, still continues to envelope me with the grace of God to ‘Awaken the Dawn’ each morning with fresh mercies and compassion. So, I must Just Live, On and be a blessing to another person who might have faced a similar year like mine. I write because this ‘blip’ on my ‘personoscope’ (if there is such a word) is a reminder that what the ancient sages, scribes, prophets and kings of Israel have written in the Holy Scriptures is the infallible truth to all of life. The wages of sin is death but the gift of repentance to God brings eternal life. It is timely to remember ‘The Prayer of Moses’, the man of God whose life was preserved in a papyrus basket and hid among the reeds on the river Nile and now prays for a heart of wisdom:

Psalm 90: 12 Teach us to number our days aright, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.

Who stands fast? Only the person whose final standard is not his or her reason, his or her principles, his or her conscience, his or her freedom, or his or her virtue, but who is ready to sacrifice all this when one is called to obedient and responsible action in faith and in exclusive allegiance to God—the responsible disciple, who tries to make his or her whole life an answer to the command and call of God is the one who will stand fast. How I long for this year to pass over, and move on. Two statements have made an impact on my soul this year: One spiritual: Proverbs 26: 11, KJV As a dog returneth to his vomit, so a fool returneth to his folly. And the other is this: What God does not protect us from, He will perfect us through – Robert C. Frost As we allow God to search our own hearts and reveal if there is any offensive way in us, let us ‘Behold The King’ on that night divine who came to lead us in the way everlasting so we may worship God in spirit and in truth this season. Just live…On we must, in Christ and for His glory alone. Amen!

Reflect: Psalm 139: 23-24 Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

One Reply to “Just Live, On”

  1. Just Live, On. There are times in life that one has to look back and reflect upon the good and bad of this year 2014. Can we do things differently? I am indeed touched by Charles’ bare and essential word for 20th Dec. Just Live, On…

Let's Talk

